S.P.S.C. Exams are conducted by the State Public Service Commission for appointments to the Services of the Union and the Services of the State respectively. The State Public Service Commission is an important institution created by the Constitution whose main task is to advise the State in the matter of selection and appointment of select personnel to Government service. The duty of these personnel is that of running the administration of the State at various levels. There are about 28 SPSC in India. Some of these are – Andhra Pradesh Public Service Commission Chhattisgarh Public Service Commission, Goa Public Service Commission etc.

List of SPSC Exams-
D.H.J.S. Exam – Delhi Higher Judicial Services Exam    
♦ H.P. Judicial Service Exam – H.P Judicial Service Competitive Examination    
♦ H.C.S. (Judicial) Exam – Haryana Civil Service (Judicial) Exam    
♦ H.C.S. Exam – Haryana Civil Services Exam    
♦ H.P.A.S. Combined Competitive Exam – Himachal Pradesh Administrative Services Combined Competitive Exam    
♦ M.P.S.C. Exam – MCSCC – Manipur Public Service Commission Exam    
♦ P.C.S. (Judicial) Exam – Punjab Civil Services (Judicial) Exam    
♦ P.C.S. Exam – Punjab Civil Services Exam    

SPSC Exam Eligibility and Application Procedure:

  • Notifications of the SPSC held in India are published in Employment News and other leading newspapers of India.
  • All graduates between the age groups of 21 and 28 are eligible to take this examination.
  • There are relaxations in upper age limit to the scheduled castes/scheduled Tribes, Ex-Servicemen, physically handicapped and the employees of the State Government.
  • Even though the examination is conducted as an all-India competition but during the interview it is desirable for the candidates to know the language, culture, and customs of the concerned State.

SPSC Exam Pattern and Admission Process:

  1. This examination has a pattern similar to the examination conducted by the UPSC. Even the preliminary examination is similar to that of civil services examination except for the few questions asked about custom, traditions, planning and problems of the State concerned.
  2. The smaller States with relatively lesser number of vacancies and lesser candidates may skip the preliminary examination. Based on the geographical area of the state, the Centres for examination are determined.
  3. For the Main examination, most of the States have adopted the syllabi and pattern of the Civil Services examination. The only difference usually is that the language papers i.e. English and regional language papers are full-fledged papers and marks obtained in these subjects are also included for preparing the final merit list. Besides, in the General Studies paper, the questions on socio-economic conditions, planning, customs, culture etc of the particular State may also appear.
  4. The final merit list is prepared based on the marks obtained in the main examination as well as the interview/ personality test/ viva- voce. Later, the candidates declared successful are allotted services on the basis of their rank and choice of the service after providing for reservations.

There are many types of SPSC Exams in India. List of SPSC:

  1. State Civil Services, Class-I (SCS)
  2. State Police Service, Class-I (SPS)
  3. Block Development Officer
  4. Tehsildar/Talukadar/Asst Collector
  5. Excise and Taxation Officer
  6. Distt. Employment Officer
  7. Distt. Treasury Officer
  8. Distt Welfare Officer
  9. Asstt Registrar Cooperative Societies
  10. Distt. Food and Supplies Controller/Officer
  11. Any other Class-I/Class-II service notified as per rules by the concerned State.