IELTS – International English Language Test


IELTS Exam – IELTS is the International English Language Testing System. It is an English Language Test which tests your ability to communicate in English. This English Test is renowned all over the world and a vast number of candidates appear for it.

Why IELTS is taken?

IELTS results are used by organizations to assess your language skills when you want to study, work or live in an English-speaking country. It has become a mandatory test for students of many nationalities to get student visas to Australia. You cannot be granted an Australian student visa without an IELTS score if you are from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and many other countries, TOEFL is not accepted.  

IELTS Exam Eligibility:

There is no specific age limit or prescribed qualification for taking IELTS Exam. It is practically open to everybody who wants to take it.

Types of IELTS Exam IELTS tests are of two types (modules)

1. Academic module: The Academic format is for those who want to study or train in an English-speaking university or Institutions of Higher and Further Education. Admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses is based on the results of the Academic test.

2. General module: The General Training format focuses on basic survival skills in a broad social and educational context. It is for those who are going to English-speaking countries to do secondary education, work experience or training programs. People migrating to Australia, Canada and New Zealand must sit the General Training test.

IELTS Exam Syllabus

Both modules are made up of four parts:

  1. Listening, (Same for both the module)
  2. Reading,
  3. Writing and
  4. Speaking. (Same for both the module)

IELTS Exam Pattern:

General Training Module

Listening 4 Sections 40 items 30 Minutes
Reading 3 Sections 40 items 60 Minutes
Writing   2 Tasks 150-250 word 60 Minutes
Speaking     11-14 Minutes

Academic Training Module

Listening 4 Sections 40 items 30 Minutes
Reading 3 Sections 40 items 60 Minutes
Writing   2 Tasks 150-250 word 60 Minutes
Speaking     11-14 Minutes

Listening, Reading and Writing must be completed in one day. Depending on your test centre, the Speaking test may be offered on the same day or up to a week before or after the other parts.

IELTS Exam Duration The total test time is 2 hours and 45 minutes.

Note: – IELTS results are graded on the unique IELTS 9-band scale. To get the result one has to clear all the four tests. The minimum score accepted for a course ranges from 5.0 to 7.5, depending upon courses and institutes you are applying to. The most common requirement is a band score of 6 to 6.5.

For how many times one can take IELTS Exam?

Unlimited attempts are allowed to take IELTS Exam. You can retake the test if you donot achieve the desired score but not before three months of the first test date.

IELTS Exam Validity Time:

International English Test Reports have a validity of two years.

Who Manages the IELTS Exam:

IELTS is managed by three reputable, international organizations:

  1. British Council, IDP:
  2. IELTS Australia and
  3. The University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations (Cambridge ESOL).

Where it is taken and for how many times it is taken in a year?

IELTS Exam is held in over 500 centres up to four times a month.

ILETS Exam Test Centres in India:

India the test is taken on 71 test centre spreading all over the country.

How to register for the IELTS Exam?

To register for the test one has to contact one’s nearest test taking authority.Like for taking test in northern part of india one can Contact at : British Council North India Delhi, Chandigarh, Jalandhar, Bhopal, Jaipur, Lucknow, Ludhiana

Address: IELTS Administrator,

17 Kasturba Gandhi Marg

New Delhi-110001

Tel: 91 011 23711401

Fax: 91 011 23710717



About The Author

Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *